• Address P O BOX. 2305, Salalah – 211, Oman
  • Phone (00968) 23235700
  • mail contactus@indianschoolsalalah.com

The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award was founded by HRH The Duke of Edinburgh KG, KT in 1956, in conjunction with Kurt Hahn, the German educationalist. Both were concerned that young people’s development was lacking in certain key areas, and they resolved to create a programme that would be a 'do-it- yourself kit in the art of civilised living'.

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is available to all 14-24 year olds and is the world’s leading youth achievement award. It equips young people for life regardless of their background, culture, physical ability, skills and interests. Doing the Award is a personal challenge and not a competition against others; it pushes young people to their personal limits and recognises their achievements.

Since its launch over 60 years ago, the Award has inspired millions of young people to transform their lives. Through non formal education, the Award can play a critical role in a young person’s personal development and is achievable by any 14-24 year old who wants to take up the challenge. As a non-formal educational programme, the Award can play a vital role in providing opportunities for young people to develop essential life skills, complementing their formal education. This enables them to grow in confidence and in their ability to contribute positively to their communities. Its success and flexibility is evidenced by the fact that it has spread to over 140 countries and territories.


  • Self belief and self confidence
  • A positive and realistic self –image-They will know and accept their own strength and weaknesses, and be more aware of their own potential
  • An independent and self –motivating attitude
  • A sense of responsibilities to others
  • A willingness to try new things
  • The ability to make a plan and then make their plan happen
  • Team building
  • Life skill- negotiation, communication, problem solving, research, presentation skill

Operational Principles

  • Participant must be between the age of 14 and 25
  • Award Programme has three levels

    1. Bronze [above 14 years]
    2. Silver[ Above 15 years]
    3. Gold [Above 16 years]
  • Award programme consists of the four mandatory sections
    1.  Service
    2 . Skill
    3.  Physical Recreation
    4.  Adventurous Journey
    5.  Residential Project [Only for Gold Awardees]

How to register for the award

  • Register with the award coordinator of the school by giving a filled consent letter from parents.
  • Registration fee: There is usually a registration fee required to cover the cost of the online record book, certificates, badges and Award administration. The amount has to be paid to the award coordinator.
  • Registered participants must register in the Online Record Book and complete their award activities.
  • It is mandatory to complete a practice journey camp and an adventurous journey camp to accomplish the award.
  • Participants must show their activity to their award assessor and get a signed assessor report from the assessor.